Morningside House of Fredericksburg was inspected 9 times between January 29, 2024 and March 23, 2026 by the Virginia Department of Social Services. 5 of those visits ended with violations cited and 4 with none. Across that history VDSS cited 23 violations under 21 distinct standards. 4 inspections were prompted by a complaint.
A violation is a licensing standard - a rule in the Virginia Administrative Code - that the inspector found the facility was not meeting. Each is shown with the evidence the inspector recorded and, where VDSS publishes it, the facility's own plan of correction.
Every inspection listed here is currently published on the VDSS site.
Provider Information
Inspection History
9Select an inspection to read the areas reviewed, the inspector's comments and any violations cited.
March 23, 2026Complaint survey
- During the onsite inspection, 03/23/2026, LI toured the safe, secure facility with staff 1. During the tour, LI and staff 3 noted that resident 1, resident 2, resident 3, resident 4, resident 5, resident 6, resident 7, resident 8, resident 9, resident 10, resident 11, resident 12, and resident 13’s bedroom doors were locked.
March 23, 2026Inspection
- During the onsite inspection, 03/23/2026, the facility’s medication management plan was reviewed and stated the following as it relates to staff that administer medications: “orientation included review of this plan, medication policies, use of the eMAR, error reporting, and the Five Rights of Medication Administration; and new staff receive supervised medication passes by Director of Health and Wellness (DHW)/Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN).”
- The licensing department received an incident report, 11/03/2025, that stated, “during the morning medication pass, a registered medication aide in training, staff 1 administered medications intended for resident 2 to resident 1. The training aide, staff 2, pointed to indicate the intended resident, but the trainee misidentified the individual and proceeded to administer the medications to the wrong resident.”
- During the onsite inspection, 03/23/2026, staff 4 confirmed that resident 1 and resident 2’s medication error occurred when staff 2 did not adequately supervise staff 1, who was in training during the medication pass on 11/03/2025.
- During the onsite inspection, 03/23/2026, LI reviewed staff 2’s records and noted a documentation dated 03/10/2026 stated, “on 03/03/2026 staff 2 stopped AM medication pass while clocked in, left the building to pick up Tropical Smoothie for coworkers and self. Medication cart was left in the middle of main and unattended. Medication pass ended late;” however, the incident was not reported to the regional licensing office.
- During the onsite inspection, 03/23/2026, staff 3 confirmed that the incident involving late medication administration on 03/03/2026 was not reported to the regional licensing office within 24 hours of the event.
- On 11/03/2026, staff 1 (hire date, 10/30/2025) administered resident 2’s morning medication (Amlodipine Besylate 5 MG, Carvedilol 25 MG, Quetiapine Fumarate 50 MG, and DOK 100 MG Softgel) to resident 1.
- During the onsite inspection, 03/23/2026, staff 4 acknowledged resident 1’s orders (Amlodipine Besylate 5 MG, Carvedilol 25 MG, Quetiapine Fumarate 50 MG, and DOK 100 MG Softgel) were not followed as they received resident 2’s medication on 11/03/2025.
March 23, 2026Inspection
March 23, 2026Complaint survey
July 8, 2025Complaint survey
September 16, 2024Complaint survey
- Resident 1’s weight prior to admission (admitted 6/7/2024) was documented on the physical examination (5/29/2024) to be 140 lbs.
- The resident’s weight was not checked and documented by the facility upon admission or through the month of June 2024. Staff 4 stated they made a mistake by not recording resident 1’s weight on admission.
- On 7/1/2024, resident 1’s weight was recorded at 104.4lbs. There were no interventions indicated in resident 1’s record until a six-month dietary review was conducted on 7/22/2024. On 7/28/2024 re-admission weight from the hospital was recorded at 104.4 lbs.
- Eight total entries in the communication log referenced resident 1’s meal intake. On the following eight entries, resident 1 was recorded to have eaten 25% or less: 6/10/2024, 6/26/2024, 7/5/2024, 7/14/2024, 7/29/2024, and 7/30/2024.
- Home health nursing documented providing skilled wound care on 7/10/2024, 7/16/2024, 7/19/2024, 7/22/2024, and 8/2/2024 to an open area on the sacrum. Home health physical therapy documented therapy visits on 7/17/2024 and 8/1/2024 with home health speech therapy completing an evaluation on 7/18/2024.
- Following the home health visits, the facility failed to document any follow-up after the physical therapy visit on 7/17/2024, speech therapy evaluation/visit on 7/18/2024, or the physical therapy visit on 8/1/2024.
- Resident 1’s (admitted 6/7/2024) weight on the pre-admission physical examination (dated 5/29/2024) was 140 lbs.
- Initial ISP (dated 6/7/2024) under Eating/Feeding included note that resident 1 required full assistance with eating and close monitoring for choking hazard.
- Resident 1’s weight was not recorded in June 2024. Facility recorded weight on 7/1/2024 was 104.4 lbs.
- The facility recorded resident 1’s percentage of meals consumed on 7/5/2024, 7/14/2024, 7/19/2024, 7/29/2024, 7/30/2024. Four entries referencing meal intake noted meal consumption to be 25% or less. Entries on 6/10/2024, 6/26/2024, 7/24/2024, 7/26/2024, recorded resident eating little to no food.
- A six-month dietary review of all residents on a special diet was completed on 7/22/2024. The dietitian notes for resident 1 recommended a concentrated calorie diet along with a good protein source and Juven two times daily to promote healing. There is no documentation demonstrating the facility provided specific actions to address resident 1’s weight loss. Evidence where the facility followed up on the dietitian’s recommendations could not be located in the resident’s record.
- LI reviewed physician’s progress notes for resident 1. No nutrition or weight loss concerns were noted nor was there any mention of the dietitian’s recommendations.
- Resident hospitalized on 7/22/2024. Upon return to the facility on 7/28/2024, resident 1’s facility recorded weight was documented as 104.4 lbs. Discharge recommendations from the hospital included changing resident 1’s diet to Dysphagia Diet. No evidence was located in resident 1’s chart that this diet change was made.
- On 10/21/2025, LI interviewed staff 4 who confirmed no additional meal consumption documentation was on file for resident 1.
- A physician’s order was received on 6/27/2024 for home health to evaluate and treat the open area on resident 1’s coccyx.
- A skilled nursing (SN) home health evaluation completed on 7/10/2024 noted a sacral wound along with a newly identified wound on the left hip. Home health instructed facility to perform wound care in the absence of the skilled nurse and as needed (prn) if wound dressing was saturated. The SN documented facility staff were able to teach back dressing care at 100%. Facility failed to document follow up on the recommendations made by SN.
- The physician order sheet (POS) signed on 7/27/2024 did not include treatment of the open area on the sacrum that had previously been identified on both the physician referral dated 6/27/2024 and the home health order dated 7/10/2024.
- On 9/16/2024, LI reviewed documentation with staff 1 who acknowledged the order dated 6/27/2024 stated, “Home Health eval and treat for open area to coccyx” was not included on the POS.
- Physical Therapy (PT) Home Health visit, completed on 7/17/2024, provided instruction on the prevention of pressure ulcers through positioning and offloading techniques to reduce pressure on the wound. The physical therapist documented that the caregiver verbalized and demonstrated strategies to improve mobility related to transfers and ambulation. On 8/1/2024, PT educated caregivers on proper positioning when lying in bed along with frequent position changes to assist in healing of current pressure ulcers and to reduce the risk for developing new pressure ulcers. However, the facility failed to document any follow-up on the recommendations made after the visit.
- A speech therapy evaluation/visit was completed on 7/18/2024 and documented educating caregivers on therapeutic exercises during the visit to include safe swallow strategies, taking single bites, and upright positioning during meals. However, the facility failed to document any follow-up on the recommendations made after the ST visit.
- The treatment administration record (TAR) did not include a place for facility staff to document treatment of the open area on the sacrum. Progress notes did not include documentation of following up on PT or ST recommendations.
- Physician order dated 6/5/2024 indicated to check resident 1’s weight monthly. Facility failed to log resident weight on the TAR in June 2024. On 10/16/2024, Staff 4 confirmed that the facility did not weigh resident 1 upon admission; instead, they documented the weight from the admitting history and physical conducted by the physician on 5/29/2024.
- The LI requested resident 1’s UAI on 10/21/2024.
- On 9/16/2024, LI interviewed staff 4 who stated they were unable to locate and provide documentation of resident 1’s UAI.
- On 6/27/2024, the physician ordered home health to evaluate and treat an open area on resident 1’s coccyx.
- A skilled nursing home health evaluation for resident 1 was completed on 7/10/2024 with treatment initiated the same day. Home Health services were not included on the ISP.
- Dietitian consult completed on 7/22/2024 with recommendations made for concentrated calorie diet with Juven two times daily to promote wound healing. These recommendations were not updated on the ISP.
- Home health progress notes dated 6/19/2024, 7/16/2024, 7/17/2024, 7/19/2024, and 7/22/2024 all indicated the need for turning and repositioning to offload pressure to the sacral area. These recommendations were not documented on the ISP.
- Home health speech therapy evaluation and treatment completed on 7/18/2024 with focus on risk for aspiration and choking, along with decreased nutrition and hydration. These concerns were not documented on the ISP.
- On 9/16/2024, LI reviewed resident 1’s ISP with staff 1, who acknowledged the ISP had not been updated and did not include coordination of care with home health and dietitian’s recommendations.
- LI requested the facilities skin assessment policies and procedures.
- The Resident Care Skin Assessment Policy 244 provided by staff 1 stated the director of health and wellness (DHW) or designee will evaluate a resident on or before move-in to the community in an effort to decrease the incidence of skin breakdown with procedure six specifying the DHW or designee was responsible for documenting on the skin assessment form (Mem Form 244A) for any area of skin breakdown.
- LI requested documentation of the completed skin assessment.
- On 9/16/2024, staff 1 stated the skin assessment, which was to be completed on or before move-in, along with Form 244A (assessment after skin breakdown), were not completed.
- Licensing Inspector (LI) conducted a review of resident 1’s record (date of admission 6/7/2024) and noted a physician’s order dated 6/27/2024 for evaluation and treatment of open area on coccyx.
- On 9/16/2024, LI asked staff 1 for the self-report for resident 1’s wound.
- Communication log dated 7/1/2024 noted bruising to resident 1’s left rib cage area with x-ray ordered by the physician.
- On 9/16/2024, LI interviewed staff 1 who stated the self-report was not sent for either incident to the regional licensing office.
July 26, 2024Inspection
- The LI observed the first aid kit, located in the Wellness Office, did not include a blanket, tweezers, hand sanitizer, scissors, and triangle bandage.
- Staff 4 acknowledged the first aid kit was missing items.
- During tour of the facility on 7/29/2024 the licensing staff observed the breakfast meal which included eggs, sausage, and toast with jelly.
- The posted menu included eggs, sausage, French toast, and grits.
- The posted menu was not updated with the toast with jelly substitution.
- The July 2024 activity calendar did not document 21 hours of resident activities per week.
- Staff 2 confirmed the number of hours was not posted on the activity calendar demonstrating at least 21 hours of activities were scheduled per week.
- Photo evidence taken.
- LI observed a med pass, 7/26/2024, and reviewed the medication administration record (MAR). The LI observed prn medications listed on the MAR were missing from the medication cart.
- Resident 1 had a physician order for routine treatment of moisture wicking fabric (order date 6/11/2024) and prn cream in the medication cart (order date 7/13/2024) were not available.
- Resident 2 had a physician order for Aquaphor Ointment (order date 3/12/2024), and prn Loperamide 2mg capsule (order date 3/20/2024) were not available.
- Resident 3 had a physician order for prn Acetaminophen 325 mg tablet (order date 3/19/2024), prn Loperamide 2mg capsule (order date 3/12/2024), prn Nystatin (order date 3/19/2024), prn Miralax (order date 3/12/2024), and prn Ureacin –20 cream (order date 3/12/2024) were not available.
- Staff 3 acknowledged that the medications were not available.
- During tour of the facility on 7/26/2024 the LI observed 48 – 8oz. bottles.
- Staff 1 acknowledged that 48 hours of emergency water was not in stock.
January 29, 2024Inspection
06/26/2028Inspection
- The LI conducted a record review on 6/26/2025 of resident 2’s chart, admitted 6/18/2025. The LI observed the chart did not contain a written determination and justification.
- During an interview with staff 4 on 6/26/2025, staff 4 confirmed resident 2’s chart did not contain the required written determination and justification.
- During a record review on 2/26/2025 the LI observed Albuterol 90 mcg, a PRN medication, for resident 5 (admitted 2/20/2025) did not include directions what to do if symptoms persisted.
- During interviews with staff 4 and staff 5 on 6/26/2025, they confirmed the Albuterol 90 mcg PRN does not include directions as to what to do if symptoms persisted.
- During the initial tour of the building on 6/26/2025 with staff 4, the LI observed all resident rooms were locked in the building.
- During the tour of the building, the LI interviewed Staff 4, who confirmed that the resident rooms were locked and that residents needed to request access to their room. Alternatively, staff would assist residents to their room if they observed the resident was tired and needed to lie down.
- During a record review on 6/26/2025, the Licensing Inspector (LI) observed that the fire drill conducted on 3/16/2025 did not include two of the nine required data elements: the method used for notification of the drill and any problems encountered.
- During an interview with staff 4 on 6/26/2025, staff 4 confirmed the fire drill records did not include all the required elements of this subsection.
- The LI conducted a record review on 6/26/2025 of resident 2’s chart, admitted 6/18/2025. The LI observed the chart did not contain an assessment by a psychiatrist or physician that assessed the resident’s cognitive function, thought and perception, mood, behavior/psychomotor, speech, and appearance.
- During an interview with staff 4 on 6/26/2025, staff 4 confirmed resident 2’s chart did not contain the required assessment according to the standards.
- During a record review on 6/26/2025, the LI observed staff 1, hired 2/27/2025, did not have 10 hours of cognitive impairment training within four months of their hire date.
- Staff 4 confirmed staff 1 did not have the required 10 hours of cognitive impairment training within four months of their hire date.
- During record review on 6/26/2025, the LI observed that staff 1, a direct care aide (DCA), hired 2/27/2025, did not have a record of being first aid certified in their employee file.
- During an interview with staff 4 on 6/26/2025, staff 4 confirmed staff 1 did not have a current first aide certification.