Sunrise at Mount Vernon was inspected 17 times between August 21, 2020 and November 18, 2025 by the Virginia Department of Social Services. 14 of those visits ended with violations cited and 3 with none. Across that history VDSS cited 41 violations under 30 distinct standards. 9 inspections were prompted by a complaint.
A violation is a licensing standard - a rule in the Virginia Administrative Code - that the inspector found the facility was not meeting. Each is shown with the evidence the inspector recorded and, where VDSS publishes it, the facility's own plan of correction.
VDSS publishes inspections on a rolling window. 15 of these 17 are still on the state's site; the other 2 have since dropped off it and are reproduced from Assisted Living Magazine's archive of the original VDSS reports.
Provider Information
Inspection History
17Select an inspection to read the areas reviewed, the inspector's comments and any violations cited.
November 18, 2025Inspection
- On 10/28/2025, licensing inspector received a follow-up to the incident report submitted 10/26/2025 stating that resident 1 (admit date, 10/06/2025) signed out of the facility on 10/22/2025 with the intent to return to their residential home. Resident 1 was independent with Activities of Daily Living (ADL’s) and continued to drive their personal vehicle.
- Resident 1’s progress note, 10/26/2025 stated that staff attempted to contact resident 1 but the phone was “off,” so POA was contacted to request a wellness check.
- Resident 1 was found deceased in their residential home on 10/26/2025.
- Staff 2 and staff 3 documented that assessments and check-ins were provided to resident 1 on 10/22/2025 (overnight), 10/23/2025, 10/24/2025, and 10/25/2025; however, based on staff interview and resident sign in and sign out log, resident 1 had not been in the facility since 10/22/2025.
- On 10/29/2025, staff 2 was provided a Performance Counseling & Improvement Plan for Corrective Action for “failure to respond to a resident/family member” on 10/23/2025 and 10/25/2025; and “falsification of company records or timesheets” on 10/23/2025 at 2:25 PM and 10/25/2025 at 2:17 PM. Staff 2 was terminated from the facility on 10/29/2025.
- On 10/29/2025, staff 3 was provided a Performance Counseling & Improvement Plan for Corrective Action for “failure to respond to a resident/family member: on 10/22/2025, 10/23/2025, and 10/24/2025; and falsification of company records or timesheets on 10/23/2025 at 12:40 AM and 10/24/2025 at 12:44 AM. Staff 3 was terminated from the facility on 10/29/2025.
- During the onsite inspection, 11/18/2025, staff 1 confirmed that staff 2 and staff 3 were terminated on 10/29/2025 for not following company policy.
- The regional licensing office received an incident report on 10/26/2025 at 9:22 PM stating that a resident signed out of the facility to visit their residential home and did not return. Following a wellness check, the resident was found deceased in their home.
- On 11/05/2025, licensing inspector requested a written formal report indicating the circumstances surrounding the resident’s death.
- The facility failed to submit a written report within seven days to include the required information from the date of the incident, 10/26/2025.
November 18, 2025Inspection
- On 09/09/2025, Resident 2 was prescribed and ordered to start Cyanocobalamin 1000 MCG (take 1 tablet by mouth once daily) on 09/10/2025; however, the medication was not transcribed onto Resident 2’s September 2025’s MAR as well as October – November 2025 MARs.
- During the onsite inspection, 11/18/2025, staff 6 confirmed that resident 2’s Cyanocobalamin 1000 MCG 09/09/2025 order was not transcribed within 24 hours of receipt to their September 2025 MAR.
- Upon request, the disclosure statement was not provided on a current form developed by the department.
- During the onsite inspection, 11/18/2025, staff 9 confirmed that the disclosure statement was not prepared on a form developed by the department.
- Upon request on 11/18/2025, resident 1’s (admit date, 10/18/2025) appropriateness of placement to a safe, secure environment was not provided.
- Upon request on 11/18/2025, resident 2’s (admit date, 04/06/2025) appropriateness of placement to a safe, secure environment was not provided.
- During the onsite inspection, 11/18/2025, staff 9 confirmed that the determination and justification for the decision to admit residents with a psychiatric diagnosis of dementia to a safe, secure environment was not documented and retained in resident 1 and resident 2’s files.
- Upon request on 11/18/2025, a semiannual review of resident emergencies with staff was not provided.
- During the onsite inspection, 11/18/2025, staff 9 confirmed that a review of resident emergencies was not documented as completed at least every 6 months with staff.
- Resident 2 was prescribed Cyanocobalamin 1000 MCG (take 1 tablet by mouth once daily) on 09/09/2025 with the start date of 09/10/2025; however, Resident 2’s September medication administration record (MAR) did not include Cyanocobalamin 1000 MCG for administration.
- During the onsite inspection, staff 6 confirmed that Resident 2 was prescribed Cyanocobalamin 1000 MCG with instructions to start on 09/10/2025. Staff 6 further confirmed that Resident 2 did not start Cyanocobalamin 1000 MCG on 09/10/2025 as ordered and currently has not been administered the medication.
- Upon request on 11/18/2025, a semiannual review of resident emergencies with staff was not provided.
- During the onsite inspection, 11/18/2025, staff 9 confirmed that a review of resident emergencies was not documented as completed at least every 6 months with staff.
- During the onsite inspection, 11/18/2025, staff 7 was unable to locate the diet manual upon request.
- During the onsite inspection, staff 7 and staff 9 confirmed that a diet manual was not kept current and readily available to personnel responsible for food preparation.
- The emergency preparedness and response plan was reviewed with staff on 06/17/2025 and 06/26/2025.
- Upon request on 11/18/2025, a semiannual review of the emergency preparedness and response plan with volunteers and residents was not provided.
- During the onsite inspection, 11/18/2025, staff 9 confirmed that a semi-annual review was not documented as completed with staff, residents, and volunteers.
May 16, 2025Complaint survey
- Resident 1 was transferred to the hospital on 05/09/2025; however, this was not reported to the regional licensing office.
- On 05/16/2025, LI interviewed staff 1 who confirmed that resident 1’s hospital visit was not reported to the regional licensing office within 24 hours.
- Resident 1’s progress notes indicated skin discoloration on face, 05/03/2025 and was treated by home health agency.
- Resident 1 was transferred to the emergency room on 05/09/2025 and alleged that they were punched in the face.
- On 05/16/2025, LI interviewed staff 1 who confirmed that staff did not report resident 1’s allegations of being punched in the face to the nurse in charge.
December 18, 2024Inspection
- The emergency preparedness and response plan was not reviewed semi-annually with staff, residents, and volunteers.
- On 12/18/2024, licensing inspector (LI) interviewed Staff 5 who confirmed that the emergency preparedness and response plan was not reviewed semi-annually.
- Resident 1’s (admit date, 11/27/2024) disclosure statements included the licensee’s name as Inova Healthcare Systems. The licensee’s name is Inova Healthcare Services.
- The emergency preparedness and response plan was not reviewed annually.
- On 12/18/2024, licensing inspector (LI) interviewed Staff 5 who confirmed that the emergency preparedness and response plan was not reviewed annually.
- On 12/19/2024, LI toured the kitchen and observed that there was not emergency drinking water on-site.
- On the date of inspection, while performing a physical plant walk through, staff 5 and LI were unable to access the emergency food and drinking water supply behind a locked door with the keys and resources that were available in the facility.
- The facility did not keep a current diet manual available to personnel responsible for food preparation.
- On 12/19/2024, licensing inspector (LI) interviewed Staff 9 who confirmed that diet manual was not available to personnel responsible for food preparation.
- Resident 2’s (admit date, 10/11/2019) hospice plan of care indicated that services began on 12/17/2022. Resident 2’s records did not include an agreement between the facility and the hospice program.
December 18, 2024Complaint survey
October 7, 2024Complaint survey
- Resident 1 (admit date, 07/23/2021) had an order for Sertraline HCI Oral Tablet 25 MG (give 2 tablets by mouth one time a day for anxiety). Resident 1’s Medication Administration Record (MAR) reflected that there were nine missed doses of Sertraline HCI 25 MG, 09/04 – 09/11/2024.
- Resident 1’s (admit date, 07/23/2021) individualized service plan (completed, 08/28/2024) stated, “I need companion services. The providing individual/company (Specify: Name, Address and Phone Number may be contacted at (Specify: Contact Information) and routinely visits community on (Specify: Contact Information). Services will be billed to (Specify)
- The Resident Companions Policy stated, “The Resident Care Director (RCD)/designee documents that the Resident has retained a companion in the resident’s electronic health record (eHR) and Service Plan (SP). The resident’s retention of a companion is documented with every comprehensive assessment (within the eHR) and with each monthly wellness visit; the SP is updated as needed.”
- On 10/07/2024, Licensing Inspector (LI) interviewed Staff 1 who stated, Resident 1’s family privately hired Private Duty Aide 2 and Private Duty Aide 3, so the facility was unaware of hire dates or the arrangement between Private Duty Aides and family.
- Resident 1 (admit date, 07/23/2021) had a PRN order for Systane Ophthalmic Gel 0.4-0.3 % (Polyethlene Glyocol-Propylene Glycol (Ophth) (instill 1 drop in both eyes every 6 hours as needed for dry eyes). The order did not include symptoms that indicated the use of the medication, the exact time frames the medication was to be given in a 24-hour period, and directions as to what to do if symptos persisted.
- Resident 1’s record contained a progress note, 08/28/2024, that stated, “…writer told Resident 1’s daughter that Staff 1will initiate a change in condition assessment to re'ect resident’s current condition…” The change in condition assessment was completed on 08/28/2024. Resident 1’s assessment category was Severe Impairment; scored 6.0.
- d by the completion of the current screening form published by the Virginia Department of Health or a form consistent with it. The risk assessment shall not be no older than 30 days. Evidence:
- Private Duty Aide 2’s (hire date, unknown) tuberculosis screening was completed 03/15/2024. Resident 1’s companion care services started on 08/30/2024.
- Private Duty Aide 3’s (hire date, unknown) record did not contain a tuberculosis screening.
- On 10/07/2024, LI interviewed Private Duty Aide who confirmed that Private Duty Aide 3’s records was missing a tuberculosis screening.
- Resident Companions Policy stated, “Prior to beginning work in the community, it is the responsibility of the ED/designee to validate that all companions have TB (tuberculosis) screening.”
- Private Duty Aide 2 (hire date, unknown) and Private Duty Aide 3’s (hire date, unknown) records did not contain documentation of completion of orientation trainings.
- On 10/07/2024, Licensing Inspector (LI) interviewed Staff 1 who confirmed that orientation trainings were not present in Private Duty Aide 2 and Private Duty Aide 3’s records. Staff 1 stated, “I don’t know” when asked why the trainings were not completed.
- The Resident Companion Policy stated, “Companions complete the Sunrise volunteer orientation program.”
April 1, 2024Complaint survey
February 1, 2024Complaint survey
December 18, 2023Inspection
- The medication cart, on the facility's special care unit, was observed to be unlocked and unattended at approximately 8:44 AM.
December 6, 2022Inspection
- The record of Staff #2 was reviewed during the inspection. Staff #2’s record contained a first aid certification that expired in October 2022. No documentation was provided, during the inspection, to confirm that Staff #2 has current certification in first aid.
- The record for Resident #7 was reviewed during the inspection. Resident #7 was admitted into the memory care unit on 5/25/22, but the resident’s Assessment of Serious Cognitive Impairment was not completed until 5/27/22.
- The ISPs for the following residents were not signed by the resident or their legal representative: Resident #1 (dated 11/6/22), Resident #2 (dated 11/6/22), Resident #3 (dated 10/26/22), Resident #4 (dated 10/26/22), and Resident #8 (dated 8/25/22).
- Calmoseptine ointment was observed on a shelf in the room of Resident #2, of the memory care unit. Resident #2’s record contained an order, dated 7/28/22, for Calmoseptine ointment. Resident #2’s UAI, dated 11/3/22, states that the resident needs his medication to be administered by professional nursing staff.